Health care experience: meddical assistant or certified nurse assistant?

medical asst. requires far more training than cna and generally has more responsibility. a cna course is 50-80 hrs. and can be done in 2 weeks.

medical asst. typically takes 6-9 mo full time with the option of extending 3 more months to get a Ltd xray license..

in my neck of the woods MA's make up to 25/hr and cna's max out at less than 20.

rn>lpn>ma>cna

depends on the school

emt-basic is 120 hrs of training

emt-intermediate is 500 or so more

emt-paramedic typically runs 2 yrs for an a.s. level program after a min of 6 mo as an emt-b although some shorter programs still exist(mine was 1 yr in the early 90's).

MA>EMT-basic>phleb for most programs.

emt-basics can work on an ambulance or as er techs and be trained to draw blood, give injections, etc on the job. phleb is just drawing blood, generally in a lab or hospital. not great experience.

I was an emt-basic first in high school then worked as an er tech and was cross trained on the job as an ma(at the time you could do on the job training for ma. much harder to do that now and be licensed). I worked as an er tech all through college doing essentially an lpn scope of practice(iv's, neb tx, etc) except for foleys and hanging drips. then later went to paramedic school right after college.

In my opinion RN > EMT-P > RT/LVN > ER Tech (EMT-B or I) > MA > PBT/EKG/Radiology Tech > CNA in ICU/ER/CCU etc > EMT-I / EMT-B (on a rig) / CNA in skilled nursing facility.

Just my opinion though.

My EMT-B took me 4 weeks, EKG tech 4 weekends, PBT 1.5 months

Total time 4 months and I use all those skills in the ER along side MD/RN/PA/RTs...

Where does scribe fit in? Not joking anymore.....Medex has that on their page as being acceptable healthcare experience. Trying to wrap my head around that one.

as shadowing....I'm guessing it doesn't fly for the bs option sites and won't fly when they open the new site at tacoma..