Can I just ask...

...as a frequent long-time lurker, and infrequent poster, does anyone ever experience CDMF? That's Chronic Disease Management Fatigue-my crispy near burnout exhausted way of saying, I've been doing primary care/family practice for 11 years in a community health setting w/underserved patients-rural/and the inner city folks who migrate out this way, along w/ migrant-types who come passing through our area of the lower 48. 

Is it typical for the litany of disease burden for these chronic, multiple comorbidity types to actually decrease, or the polypharmacy to actually decrease as the years go on for some of these patients? Or, does this list grow as these patients add-on years?  They are the most challenging for addressing the diet/exercise/wt loss issue, for smoking cessation, etc, d/t to the nature of their "social determinants of healthcare." I try to counsel on these changes w/ sensitivity to the constraints of my patient population, in terms of small steps, or realistic alterations they could enact with food choices, or trying to get SOME kind of activity, etc, (and of course, treat w/ medication as indicated per underlying medical condition/consult/or further work-up, etc...), but overall, I feel so very ineffective with these patients-like they're multiple juggling balls in the air, and the moment one medical condition gets patched back together, you're scrambling to catch the other 3 about to bomb out the hatchet. 

Maybe it's been a long week, and I just needed to vent. I'm sorry-just wondering if this has been the experience of other providers over the years, the longer you work in these settings of community health care/FQHC style/medical practice with under-served? 

Edited by Brigid2010
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2