How difficult is it to get in to stony brook PA?

I'm trying to get some idea of the level of competitiveness for this particular program.

I'm actually a two time graduate of stony brook already, a BA in psychology from 2002, and a BS in Cytotechnology from 2008. Earned at the same school of health tech and management that PAs attend, even taking some of the same classes with them (gross anatomy, physiology, etc).

I did pretty well, my GPA is 3.42 for my second degree, which was 90% hard sciences and medical. I'm currently working as a Cytotechnologist in a hospital, which should fufill the patient care requirements about ten times over by the time I'm ready to apply, which would roughly be in about five years, so about ten years of health care experience under my belt (I'd be about 38 when I apply).

I know that on paper I far exceed the requirements. But still, I wonder if its enough. I honestly can't imagine attending any other school. Stony Brook is my home, both figuratively and literally. I've spent countless sleepless nights studying for tests in the HSC, and I look forward to doing it again when I get the chance.

Can any of the recently accepted give me a indication if I'd be a favorable candidate?

Hi Mdaria510,

I haven't been accepted to their program (yet) but it's definitely at the top of my list. I am applying this year too, and I think you have a really good chance of getting in, not just because of your stats and work experience but because you are a NY resident. I was wondering though, since you know a lot about Stony Brook, are you familiar with the cadaver lab that they offer? I mean, is it a full dissection cadaver lab or is it already dissected by the PT students and PA students get only to observe? Thank you anyways, and good luck to you! :)

Hi Mdaria510,