Atls

As a new PA in a level three trauma ER, I would like some advice from those ATLS certified. I have been working for 6 months now and have some CME money to spend. I realize either option will be more education regardless, but would you recommend taking an ATLS course or attending an EM conference at this point in my career? Thanks!

I would be more inclined to do the conference. It will give you a broader education on things you would see in the ED, and you can participate in workshops to add some skills to your toolbox. ATLS is great, no doubt. I think at this point in your career the conference will give you more bang for your buck.

the full course is 2-3 days, the recert is 1 day.

I took atls for the first time as a student right before my trauma surgery rotation. it covers a lot of adv. procedures that are hard to learn elsewhere. it includes lab experience. chest tubes, crichs, pericardiocentesis, central lines, etc

Guest JMPA

The real question is as an ER PA will you be covering the level traumas or will the surgery team be covering the level traumas? If your not a direct part of the trauma team then i would vouch that you would get more usable knowledge from the em workshop

The real question is as an ER PA will you be covering the level traumas or will the surgery team be covering the level traumas? If your not a direct part of the trauma team then i would vouch that you would get more usable knowledge from the em workshop

probably true. at one facility I work at the trauma team gets all the "level 1 traumas" which are things obviously going to the o.r. and the er staff(including pa's) gets all the level two traumas, many of which later require a full activation to the o.r. after stabilization. the level 2 's are more subtle and may be nothing or may be a big deal disguised in a poor medic report and 1 set of stable v.s.