What do seasoned PAs think of my job role?

Hi everyone,

I would love to hear the thoughts and opinions of experienced PAs out there. I graduated last August and didn't start working until this June (currently 27 y/o). I originally was supposed to start a job in Cardiothoracic Surgery in Wisconsin in January 2019, but due to many difficult circumstances I was forced to turn down that job and stay at home to look for another job instead of relocating for that first job. Since then, I interviewed for another CT Surgery job in February and was hired a week later. For whatever reason, the hospital was not able to credential me and I couldn't start until late June. So here I am, about one month in to this CT Surgery job. Insofar, there was only one other PA in the group who put in their 2 week's notice a day before I started. It took the hospital an entire week after my first day before I had any EMR access, so I basically spent my first week being useless, standing around observing the PA's job, trying to soak in all I could in order to function on my own when this PA departs. Much of this PA's job seems very administrative/secretarial.