On switching jobs and salaries.

I've recently been offered a new role in the ICU setting in the same city where I work as a hospitalist. The ICU is staffed by a private physician group. The offer was underwhelming and I'm getting ready to start the negotiating process- that's not what I'm looking for thoughts on, though I may post later in Contracts/Negotiations about it.

The position is awesome- lots of procedures, admissions, and general back up of the physicians. No pager/cross cover calls, just being available to nursing and sharing the load with the docs. They currently have three APPs and they are awesome, they all seem to be practicing at the top of their ability, and have amazing knowledge and skills that I'm dying to develop. I would likely be working primarily swing shifts, which means no daily rounding/progress notes for the most part.

But, like I said, the offer is underwhelming. Technically more salary, but quite a few more hours required each month so decreased hourly. I work currently as a hospitalist doing nights (employed by the hospital) in the same city at a smaller hospital and as is, I currently make about $8 more per hour, and that's before my guaranteed wage increase in October of this year. After the first year there would be a small raise but it would still be considerably less than I'm making now. Granted, my current wage does include a night differential, but even if I were working days I'd still be making more as a hospitalist after October of this year. I've drafted an email expressing my concerns to them and am having some APP friends who are better versed in negotiations look at it for me.