Job hunting tips, anyone?

I find it very hard to believe that it is "easy" to get a job as a PA. I know people say that, but they always end it with "as long as you are flexible with location and specialty."

So how do you get a job if you ARE picky about location and specialty. What can you do to set yourself apart from everyone else?

I graduated undergrad when the recession tanked and I have learned that to get a job in the industry, you have to go above and beyond and stand out well above everyone else. Is the PA job search like this? I mean, I had to have the same mentality when applying for PA school. The recession has made me paranoid that I won't be able to get the PA job I want so I really want to make sure I have a GREAT application when I finally graduate.

So do you guys have any tips on how to score the perfect PA job? Do you need to schmooze and network a lot? Rack up a ton of extracurriculars while in PA school (hold officer positions, join clubs, plan volunteer events, etc). Is it all based on your referrals during rotations? Stellar grades? Do the jobs/degrees you had before graduating as a PA help you when job hunting?

I am going to school on the east coast, and I want to get a job in the San Francisco Bay Area. It is supposedly extremely hard to get a healthcare job in SF. This is another reason why I am so paranoid.

Marilyn is right. Getting an "in" in the hospital/clinic/office you would like to work at is the best bet at getting a job in many locations. Important things to consider are your specialty, and your location. If you are looking for family medicine-type jobs, you will likely have a lot of competetion, especially as you get into the more populated areas. If you don't mind working in the more rural areas, you will find it easier to not only get a job, but get them to agree to any requests you have such as salary, schedule, etc.