Career Advice: Urgent Care vs ER

I am in the process of setting up my clinical electives with an ER focus when my clinical director asked me today if I would be interested in urgent care. Apparently, the big UC company in my area is looking for students to do a clinical rotation with them with the intention of training them and hiring them after graduation.  From what I have heard, they are a good company and compensate their PAs very well. I have always leaned toward the ER because I like the fast pace, variety, and doing more procedures, but a good ER job for a new grad in my area is harder to come by. I know with most jobs you can only get 2 of the 3 (specialty, pay, location), and residency is not an option. I think I would enjoy UC for a time while I’m still an over-eager new grad, but I know I would enjoy the ER more as a career.

So here are my questions:

A)      I know UC jobs are generally nightmares for new grads, but would you recommend taking it knowing that you would have the last 6 weeks of your clinical year for essentially on the job training?

B)      Sacrifice one of my only two electives in the UC and essentially have a guaranteed job with pay and location, or do a more useful elective and take a gamble on an ER job (specialty, pay and location)?

C)      Would I still be able to get a job in the ER (small, low acuity) with having only UC experience later in my career?

Thanks for the help.

FWIW there is never a guaranteed job.  Something to keep in mind.  Unless it's in writing, it's an empty promise at this point.  
So true! I had a "Guaranteed Job" in PA school with my former boss and mentor. Sadly he died during didactic year. Lost my job but more importantly lost my mentor.

However I did find a job after graduation and have been employed ever since...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk