Contingency Plans

I know it's still "early" in the cycle for applications, but I applied to 7 schools and have received one rejection and nothing from the others. I'm reaching a point where  the reality that I might not get in this cycle is starting to set in and I need to start thinking about contingency plans...

A little background for context- I am a non-traditional student who will be graduating with a biology degree in December. When I originally went to school (10 ish years ago) I didn't do well (33 credits of 0.0) but since going back to school in 2013 I have 140ish credits of 3.6+. Unfortunately the old credits drop my cum GPA to roughly a 2.89. Thus my conundrum. I'm an EMT, worked for several years in the ER as a tech and now work in cardiology reading EKGs. It pays very well but frankly it's boring, overnights, and I don't particularly love it or feel actualized. 

Assuming that I don't get in this cycle I see a couple routes to progress and I want your opinion of them....

a) take post bac classes at the university to try and raise GPA while working in cards. The major downside to this I see is that if I don't get in NEXT cycle too, I haven't done much to further my station or career and spent a lot more money. Also, we have a baby on the way so finances and time (for child care) are real concerns.

b) take paramedic classes. The major downside with this choice is that paramedicine jobs in my area are god aweful unless you want to work for the fire department. Many of my coworkers in cards are former paramedics so again, doesn't really further my career (at least locally). 

c) enroll in a program like RT or surgical tech. This would give me plenty of credits and some career mobility but to be honest I don't love either career option more than my current job and I'd be taking a pay cut to work as an RT or Surg Tech. Furthermore, they might not accept transfer credits from my bachelors so a lot of classes would be repeats.