First Assist Course?

I recently took a job in neurosurgery. While I'm not a new PA anymore, I'm new to surgery and haven't had any OR exposure since school. My surgeon's don't think I need a class, and are willing to teach what I need to know, but the Hospital has as a requirement of my priviledges that I need to take a 3 credit first assist class. Anyone know of a worthwhile class? There are some local community colleges with some courses, but none of which seem appropriate. Resources would be greatly appreciated!

This is ridiculous. You are a trained PA and have first assist clinical education from school.

PLUS, your surgeons are willing to teach you "their way".

The first thing I would do is ask the surgeons to talk to credentialling and have this requirement WAIVED.

And yes, they should have the power to make that happen.

This is ridiculous. You are a trained PA and have first assist clinical education from school...

That's one dangerous assumption...

Doing a surgical rotation and having "first assist clinical education" aren't necessarily the same things at MOST PA programs.

Lots of PA students get to scrub in... then have the pleasure of being pimped while hypoxic, but DO NOT have any real "Surgical First Assist" training/skills.

Since most preceptors for PA students are volunteers, its really rare that a volunteer physician and hospital and malpractice carrier is gonna jump through all of the hoops required to let a 1 month PA student, who likely has NO previous surgical experience, function at/on the level of a "first assist."

Just thoughts...

Contrarian

All PA education is standardized to the extent that it can be.

You need to know how to scrub/gown/glove and not contaminate the sterile field.

MOST surgical programs will have a new PA walk through this with "Nurse Ratchet, CNOR" to make sure they know the specifics of THEIR operating room.