Pre-PA and deeply confused

Hi everyone! Im looking for extensive advice! Im currently 22 and attending a local community college to complete my gen-ed. I do 100% for sure know that I want a career in medicine. I am intrigued by biology, the science of medicine. Most importantly I love people, I like being able to hear each individuals stories and try to make an impact in other lives. I currently work in the veterinary medicine field with the previous intention of becoming a vet. However after 3 years in the field I realized i like the medical aspect of the field and I do not want to pursue a career with animals. 

Im currently at a loss. I am 100% undecided wether to pursue PA or medical school. I do know that with which ever career I pursue I would like to have the ability to diagnose, prescribe and oversee. I have done extensive research on both professions and spoke to a few MD's and PA's, but I have not shadowed yet. I will be shadowing in a peds ER next week. I have a wonderful (non-medical) girlfriend who is very supportive of which ever career I choose. However she thinks that with all factors considered, I should just aim for medical school.

My largest concern is time and residency. I know at 22 I am still young, however I still have 3-4 years of undergrad left. I want to be able to purchase a house or have children before I'm 30. How much will residency affect that? I also know that medicine is one of my passions in like, but I don't want to make medicine my life. I want a successful career, but I also want to enjoy my life. 

One other major concern of mine is that I won't be 100% fulfilled with being a PA. Working in the veterinary industry has taught me that I know I like 3 things. Emergencies, hard to treat cases, and babies. I personally have been medically treated by both PA's and MD's, some PA's seem like they have the ability to handle more extensive cases, while others do not.