New Employer is Asking me to Incorporate?

I just graduated and passed the board exam so I'm new to all of this. 

One of my jobs will be working in a large ER as an independent contractor (1099) and my employer has asked me start a corporation in my name. I have not heard of independent contractors having to do this before so I am curious as to why and what the pros/cons are. I'm in california if that makes any difference. 

Thanks

It makes good sense to at least become an LLC (limited liability company).  What this does in essence is to make your professional person a separate entity from your private person which separates your professional assets from your personal assets.  In the event that something goes wrong and a malpractice suit is filed, the plaintiff can only go after your professional assets and your professional persona - the things limited to the LLC.  If you do not do something like that, then the plaintiff can do after your house, your car, your bank accounts and any that you hold with your significant other, etc. 

• Administrator

It also means that you can subcontract your shifts out to someone else if desired, but I THINK it makes it less non-kosher to hire a PA as a 1099.  Consult a tax advisor and employment attorney!  The benefits are likely not to you if your employer is asking for it.

Keep in mind, you do this, you are responsible for your own insurance, benefits, everything.  Make sure you are compensated appropriately to accommodate this.  Also, your tax structure for payments will be different than as an employee, you'll need to carry a malpractice insurance that has tail coverage for if/when you leave, etc.  There are a lot of benefits to incorporating and doing it this way, but make sure you have a good accountant that understands medicine, what you can deduct, what are legitimate expenses, etc. 

Good luck,

G

• 3 months later...

New grad here also encountered this same request from a prospective employer.

My question: