40 Year Old Hopeful Applicant - chances/questions

So I'm taking/retaking all pre-reqs for the schools I am interested in. I have a BS in Economics 2000 with a crappy 2.3 GPA and barely scraped through science courses (I majored in beer and women to be honest).

I went back in the mid 2000's and earned my BBA with a 3.68 at the university but only a 2.8 overall once averaged.

A few years ago I started a winding path to PA by going back to school for Respiratory Therapy. I graduated with a 4.0 and have worked primarily in ER or ICU since.

Since graduating I have taken one or two prerequisite courses each semester and so far have made an A in each.

I will have a few thousand patient contact hours and 200 plus shadow hours as well as excellent references. I'm hoping that a good GRE score will put me in good graces

Just curious if any of you are similar to me or know of similar students and how we are perceived to admissions. Thank you!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If you're careful about where you apply, I think you'll have a shot. RT is great HCE and "thousands of hours" stands out. You'll just need to apply at schools where that matters a whole lot. Each school has their own version of which GPA matters most....some might focus on prerequisite GPA (you're good), some might focus on science GPA, etc. Your challenge is going to be not getting auto-rejected based on overall GPA.

If you can get your app looked at by enough programs, I'd bet that you'd get an interview. 

Do some searches on this forum, and you'll see other posts on this topic (including my own).

Look at schools' RANGES of stats for the cohorts in recent years.  If it's clustered around a GPA and/or clustered around an age ... probably not good for you ... unless perhaps it's your local school and you get to know people on the AdComm there.  If there's a range, then as long as you meet the minimums (ALL minimums), you have a shot (make your personal statement compelling).