Volunteer Hours

Hey guys,

I am looking to apply this coming cycle. I have worked as a certified ophthalmic assistant full-time for 3 years, and I also completed a masters degree in pathology. I don't have any volunteer hours (not since before college), but I have 3 years of direct patient care experience. I know I have time to do volunteer hours, but is it something that is really necessary for PA school, or is it just a way for many applicants to get their clinical experience?

Thanks! :)

• Administrator

Don't do it for box checking.  If you're not the volunteering type, don't bother.  Just realize that some schools will hold NOT volunteering against you... but that's OK, that's probably not where you wanted to go anyways.

I'm pretty happy with how I applied to 5 different schools my second year, each of which I'd done my research on, and solidly ended up at the place that best matched me.  If you try and be all things to all people, you can get "the call" from a school where you've fooled them into thinking you're what they're looking for, and you've maybe even fooled yourself into thinking that you'll be happy there.

Point being, be yourself.  Good or bad, you'll find out where you're wanted... or not.

Thanks everyone! I have had tons of clinical experience. I have worked and shadowed with PAs and I have found that this is the best role for me. I would hate for something like volunteer hours to hold me back from reaching my goals. I really would love to do international outreach but at this point in my career those opportunities are few and far between.

I appreciate your input and I agree that I have to be myself. I know that I have a passion for helping people even if I am not volunteering my time. I have devoted my life to helping my patients, regardless of if I were ever to become a PA.