Is it realistic to chase the PA school dream??

I graduated in 2007 with a Biotechnology degree from UC Davis and have never taken human anatomy or physiology.

My undergrad GPA was 2.4 overall.

I am planning on taking classes at junior college and feel I am a better student now and less distracted however I am also 30 years old and am wondering if it is realistic to go after the PA school dream.

What is the competition like out there and are there many people who successfully become PA's and find jobs in late 30's and early 40's or is there a age discrimination factor to consider....

What do you reccomend?

I currently work in pharmacuetical manufacturing and want to change careers into a patient facing role and want to help people I am also in the process of trying to get paid experience at local hospitals as a scribe.

Any feed back guidance is appreciated as my family all seem to think this is a pipe dream and a bad idea...

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area and it is an expensive and very competitive job market from what I can tell.... So PA school overall is looking like $200K in student loans...

you have a long road if you want to make it work. likely several years of class with all As to get your gpa to at least 2.75-3.0 , which are the cutoffs for most programs. also, don't do scribe. you need to get some solid pt care interaction that involves touching pts and being responsible for elements of their care. maybe do a 2nd degree bsn and become a nurse or do a community college resp therapy or paramedic program. scribe is the lowest tier of pt care experience, only slightly better than "researcher". folks on here love scribe experience and have goitten in with it, but most of those folks also have solid gpas. you need the best of everything from here on in and that means all As and the strongest possible health care experience. you might even consider becoming a navy corpsman or army medic for a few years.