Seeking advice regarding pre-reqs

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting a question, although I've lurked for quite sometime ;) 

I'm currently finishing up my AS degree as a medical assistant but I will still need a few pre-reqs before applying to a PA program--I hope to complete them while working/earning my HCE and could use some advice. My program of choice doesn't require the science course to have a lab component but they would like 5 quarter credits. The classes that I've seen online (some offering labs, some not) have only been 4 quarter credits. How much do you think this would impact my chances of being accepted? I'm a mother to two small children and an online program would be better suited to my situation but I also don't want to throw away money or diminish my chances of being accepted. 

Thanks for your help! 

p.s. If it matters, I have already completed three lab classes (general bio, human bio, & botany) so my transcript won't be completely devoid of labs. I'll also have all my MA lab classes as well. 

Do you already hold a bachelors degree? Most programs out there require that you have one before they offer you admission. Also, completing the bare minimum will likely not get you into any programs. You'll want to go above and beyond since the competition is pretty fierce out there. Not only should you make sure you get those 5 units, but you should also be taking upper division courses at a university. 

Do you already hold a bachelors degree? Most programs out there require that you have one before they offer you admission. Also, completing the bare minimum will likely not get you into any programs. You'll want to go above and beyond since the competition is pretty fierce out there. Not only should you make sure you get those 5 units, but you should also be taking upper division courses at a university.