What is wrong with me?

Hi all,

I've been contemplating going to PA school since I graduated college in 2009. Recently, I've noticed that I can never explain why I want to be a PA without mentioning why I don't want to go to med school or be an MD - and that scares me. In the end, my reasons sound more pathetic than anything.

I just turned 24, have no children, or commitments. A PA, whom I'm currently shadowing, suggested I try for med school instead of PA school because of my latter characteristics. I truly enjoy medicine and I can't see myself doing anything else, but I lack the passion required to to pursue an ~8yr med school education and the confidence to be a "leader" in medicine. Was or is anybody in the same boat as me? I'm hoping somebody here can offer advice or comment regarding my dilemma. Thanks in advance.

Your reasoning for not wanting to do ~8 years of med school is not entirely uncommon. However, you do realize that medicine is a lifelong path, and you are encourage (and expected) to continue to learn post-graduate. Don't let the length of schooling determines your path, because you will continue to learn regardless if you are in school or not. Now, as for me i decided to be a PA because it has tremendous flexibility. It's nice knowing that i can switch specialty if i wanted to. It's also nice to know that our job will help fulfill a much needed providers' shortages. On top of that, not having a tremendous debt to deal with when graduate...it's a win-win-win situation in my book. Some people my argue that there is a glass-ceiling effect to consider. But i think it's really up to where you work that determines how much you can do. There are PAs that has their own clinic, and hiring their own SP....that's pretty cool.

Ultimately, you will have to make the decision as to which path you want to take. I wish you the best of luck!

It's quite a subject "what's wrong with me"

One part of me wants to say, "Pull yourself together, man!" :) (or woman)