coffee

Does grade replacement make a big difference / What are my chances?

Hello,

I graduated with a very low GPA due to nothing but poor study habits.  After retaking a few classes since graduating, I've raised my CASPA cGPA to 3.3 and sGPA to 3.1. Because this is still very low compared to the average accepted PA applicants, I expect to get a lot of rejections from many schools.

With Western U's grade replacement, my cGPA is 3.48, sGPA is 3.52, and pGPA is 3.56! This puts me around the average of the school's accepted applicant stats. My question is, will the grade replacement really put me on the same playing field as people who have CASPA GPAs of ~3.5, all else being equal? Will it prevent my application from being automatically discarded and help give me a shot at an interview? I have ~1100 as a Medical Assistant

Any feedback/advice/encouraging anecdotes would be appreciated. This school is my top choice -  I absolutely loved the environment during my visit and I know an awesome PA who graduated from here (the one I'm getting the letter from!). 

Grade replacement helped me to get in Western. I think I had like 3 classes that I took over. All off my retakes were As if that matters. You just need to get to an interview and do your thing. They seem to look at the application as a whole. Just work on a stellar personal statement.

You seem to be in the right track. I don't remember my GPAs but if I recall correctly, they were similar to yours, maybe slightly higher.

Don't expect rejection! Be positive and put YOUR best app out there!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Upvote 1