Post 911 GI Bill, since Dec 2010 changes

I was taking advantage of the Post 911 GI Bill while I was an undergraduate, but I am wondering how the classes that have matriculated, since the Dec 2010 changes are experiencing the results of VA policy changes due to the modifications congress enacted in December of 2010.

As I understand it:

1. private program PA students get up to 17.5K a year for tuition from VA

2. in-state public program students get 100% of tuition payed

So what this leaves me wondering is; do out-of-state public program students get their tuition payed only up to the amount of in-state tuition and make up the difference themselves? Some programs ask for one time payment for the year and the VA always payed my tuition by the semester. Anyone run into this hiccup? During my undergrad the 911 GI Bill picked up the cost of all the fees, since,regarding a PA program, there are soooooo many program fees besides just tuition, how much did the VA pay for you?

Very interesting situation, I have no idea on what the answer would be on this issue. But I do know that I am going to get the max for my program and I was given a scholarship by the college to cover the rest that the GiBill wont cover. I was also told that as long as you buy on book a semester you still can get the book stipend which then can be applied to other costs and fees. But who knows if this is a fact or not.

• 2 weeks later...