Get EMT Cert and Quit Job to be an ER Tech

Please refer to my earlier post outlining what my current IT job is like and my reason for pursuing PA.

Like stated above, I work in IT and it wasn't what I expected. I know a lot of people (family and friends) that work in healthcare and I can tell they enjoy what they do. I thought the hobby I loved would make a great career - but it's made the hobby I loved into something I'm starting to dislike.

I get paid fairly well for a first job out of college. I'm salary, but if broken down, I get paid $18/hr. I know that the medical field is something I would enjoy. My sister is in the hospital right now as well, so I have spoken to CNAs, Nurses, RTs, and an NP about their professions and they say its difficult but fulfilling.

I want to do an EMT course and get certified. Quit my job after I find a position as an ER tech. I know ER Techs don't get paid much ($12-$15/hr maybe?), but I know I'd be a much happier person doing that, and it will be gathering HCE for me while I attend my post-bacc (assuming I get in).

What do you guys think about this plan? Am I crazy to quit a well paying job in this economy? 

I would say find out what the job market is like for new EMTs before making a drastic decision. It sounds like you know enough people currently employed in a hospital which could mean...a less difficult time getting a job as an ER Tech/PCT/ any other tech position. 

Let's say you don't quit. Will you be able to get certified and accumulate HCE while working your current position? Btw, no you're not crazy. From reading this forum, I've seen people quit 80k/year careers to pursue a 12/hr job in order to pursue PA.

I quit my job and sold my house to be a PA. I have no regrets. It's all on you and what you feel comfortable with. Just realize you'll need to cut loose from that job as some point prior to beginning PA school.