Patient Attitude

It is a question I've asked myself as well. It seems less and less frequent that I have a patient treat me shabbily because I'm not a doctor. I do my very best to remain humble but confident. The more I practice the more confident I've become. Most patients call me doctor or doc and I will tell them twice that I'm a PA (there are no doctors where I work). Occasionally, I will meet a patient who presumes that I will simply "rubber stamp" whatever he requests. When they discover that PAs perform history and physical examinations and utilize evidence based medicine to formulate diagnoses and treatment plans, they are either converted or angered. I work in Primary Care so the observed differences between a PA and DO/MD are negligible. In specialty medicine, I would wonder what PAs experience. 

And I quickly said " you can see the Dr but you will have to come back another time when he is here" and I gave her a choice and informed her that I have other patients eagerly waiting to see me. She immediately stop fussing and let me see her. Ofcourse I tried to educate her what a PA is

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk