Minorities in Medicine

Im a 30+ black male trying to enter PA school.  I've had my ups and downs throughout my academic career and earnestly attempting to get back on track.  I have graduated from NCSU with a 3.5 overall(3.2 in sciences).  I have been working in labs for over 10 years not really happy but it pays the bills.  I am trying to get some HCE but seemingly I would need more schooling so not sure where to start.  I dont lack confidence in my abilities to be a PA just curious about some obstacles for minorities because truthfully there arent many black males in the profession(not to mention medicine or science in general).  I heard many black PAs attend Howard but looking at the program i think it is lacking somewhat.  I dont mind varying prospectives  just be cordial and dont be a bigot.

Although I'm not a black male, I think a lot of the advice available on this forum applies broadly to most prospective PA applicants, including you. A 3.5 GPA with 3.2 in sciences is a great starting point for building a successful PA applicant. In terms of getting HCE...start from square one. Certain schools may accept your lab work as HCE. You should only attend a program if you feel strongly about it! If you think a program is lacking in some way, don't attend!