PA school or Post bacc nursing?

I am a third year student in University and I'm majoring in Health Sciences in the East Coast. I know I want to be in the medical field but I am torn between getting a post-bacc in Nursing or going straight to PA School. I want to achieve my highest potential but I don't know if starting with a BSN and working my way up would be more or less beneficial than going to grad school to become a PA. Any Suggestions? Please be informative and considerate.

• 2 weeks later...

I would say it depends on your prior HCE and financial circumstances. My plan includes EMT-B, CNA, and nursing prior to PA school because I don't think I have enough high quality HCE to be a standout applicant. I'm also older (late 30's) with a family, so taking 2 1/2 years off of full-time work in an unrelated field is a significant undertaking. The financial and time commitment of PA school is high enough that I don't want to apply until I am sure of being accepted and prepared to do well, and I'm absolutely sure I can't be satisfied with a more affordable career option.

At one point about 5 years ago, I had to make a similar decision. I was actually accepted into and went to the first orientation day of a post-bacc nursing program (one of the top 5 in the country). After going to orientation and REALLY thinking it over, I realized that doing the nursing program was adding an unnecessary lateral move to my overall goal of becoming a physician assistant. Yes, nursing will definitely make you unique as an applicant, and frankly there is probably no better HCE out there. The RN HCE is on par with paramedic and respiratory therapy HCE...those three seem to be the gold standard for HCE.