New Grad Primary Care Offer-- Need Advice

I am a recent new grad and was offered a full time position at a privately owned primary care practice. The practice has 20+ docs and 10+ PA's.  The practice is growing and I wanted to know if this is a good offer.

~$35/hr

15 days off

$1000 towards licensing, etc

$2000 towards CME

75% coverage of health and dental insurance (I pay 25%)

1st year, required to take call once a month

Productivity bonus every month (provider gets 10% after $70,000)

Required to sign a 3 year contract

I really don't have anything to compare it to so any opinions/advice would be great!

Thanks 

first off - productivity bonus is total bull **** no way you are going to gross more then 70k/month in Primary care unless you are a crook - so no bonus for you

second - hourly is about $10/hour low

third - PTO is way low at 15 days - need 3 weeks min for vacation, 1-2 weeks for sick/personal, 12 holidays and 3 CME

fourth - 3 yr contract - ahhh that is a deal breaker in it self - employment at will - you will likely want to leave in 1-2 years.....

I would hand them a copy of the AAPA salary data (it is reliable no matter what they say) 

aim for about 60% percentile

BUT the most important thing is rather they will mentor you?

• 2 weeks later...

What is the average that you primary care guys and gals gross per month or per quarter? My bonus is going to be 25% of collections after overhead for fee-for-service patients and $50/patient/day for the Medicare capitated plans added to the gross collections. My goal will be to see 15-20 patients a day with a mix of plans. (I have 5 years experience in FP, just need to get up to speed with eclinicalworks)- I've been out of FP for 2 years.

• 3 weeks later...

I agree with the above.

What is in there regarding potential salary increases for your hourly rate (aside from bonuses). $35 seems low. Especially, since you're signing on for three years.