HELP! Recently decided to Pursue PA...

Hello all, 

How are you all doing? I am in my third year of college with a 3.68 GPA. I recently decided that I want to become a PA. I have heard that it is extremely difficult to get accepted into the PA programs, is that true? Also, so far I have only about 150-200 volunteer hours. How many hours do most school usually require? Does it also have to be direct patient hours or does shadowing and volunteering count? I am feeling extremely stressed because I don't want to take a break from my studies....and I am already in my 3rd year of college...  :( 

Thanks! 

Welcome here. Take a look around the site and I'll bet most, if not all, of your concerns have been addressed. Also take a look at the schools you're interested in. I'll wager they have some answers to your questions as well. Let us know what you learn, I'm sure others would want to know.  Best of luck in your studies.

Your GPA is great, keep it up there.  Each school has different requirements for HCE hours, you'll have to do the research into the different programs you're interested in.  I would suggest finishing out your degree then taking a year or two after to build healthcare experience, working in a particular field.  Then you should be set, good luck!

You're going to need anywhere from 500-3000 patient care hours. Some don't require it but you're not likely to get in if you don't have any. Most of the time volunteering doesn't count, and sometimes they require PAID hours. A common route is to get your CNA license. The average age of Pa students is about 27 yrs old and this is the primary reason why. Do what you can while you're in undergrad but put your studies first. If need be tak a year off and gain HCE.

All of my hours were volunteer hours, and I had a total of like 350.  So it is possible to get accepted.