Older student/Second Career Advice

I am 44 and have been a medical device professional (clinical, sales, marketing, market development) for 20+ years. I studied pre-med and biomedical engineering in undergraduate school and also received an MBA 10 years ago. I am ready for a career change and ready to make the leap into a new profession but I have to admit it is TERRIFYING to make such a big change.  

I'd be interested to email or phone other people who have been in my same situation to get perspective and advice.

Topics of concern:

A) Do I need to retake ALL of the pre-requisite courses? Is there a way to get a pass on some based on work experience?

B) Finances: I need to continue working full-time until I start school to pay off current debt and make ends meet once I start school. I have 3 kids under 9 and I am the primary financial support. How do I fit classes into the evening with a demanding job? How is it going to feel to invest ALOT of money and time into getting this degree and then take a significant pay cut (I am currently making $155,000 per year as a marketing manager)? Can financial aid help pay for living expenses if needed? Is it better to save money right now or to pay down debt? Will I receive less financial aid if I have money in the bank?   

C) I have worked in medical devices with patients and physicians my whole career. I was in the field for 7 years with patient contact. ny comments on how this type of experience is viewed in the PA world?

D) Are there a lot of other students in their 40s in PA school? What is the median age in most programs? I will be 46 if I get accepted in the next open admission cycle.

Thanks for the insight.

Susan Malaret

Minneapolis MN

• Administrator