How Do You Warn Patients for Your Prescriptions

There’s a question at the end of this.

I came to work this morning to learn of terrible medication adverse event with one of my patients and I feel really bad about it. To make a long story short, this is a 60 year old lady with severe, daily intractable migraine. She has been seen at numerous headache clinics. She has a very complex medical history, including a lot of mental health issues and is on a long list of drugs. I’ve been working with her for several months. She was suicidal when I first met her. On the last visit, she was four weeks headache free. That’s the good news.

One (of many) medications that I had prescribed along the way was mirtazapine. It appears (from a discharge summary) that she became acutely ill about three weeks ago, was taken to the ER. She was admitted for severe pancytopenia with associated lower GI bleed and encephalitis and transferred to a larger hospital in Seattle.

Her hospital course was unfortunately eventful as she developed a DVT, and then was put on heparin and a PICC line. Then her PICC line became infected with MRSA. She was just discharged and seems like she will recover.

The hematologist concluded that the whole problem (pancytopenia) was caused by the mirtazapine.

In my reading, pancytopenia is extremely rare with mirtazapine (as it is with many drugs). When I write a new prescription, I verbally discuss the top 4-5 side effects of the drug and then tell the patient to read the handout that all our pharmacist give them.

I work in an office that is electronically challenged. The owners are not computer savvy. Before coming here I had access to my own digital handouts and gave one for each drug I wrote. But he pharmacist has great (and too detailed) handouts and I rely on them. However, I looked up the hand out for mirtazapine and pancytopenia is not mentioned.