Working @ an academic hospital vs. 'regular' hospital

Caveat: I never "worked" at a teaching hospital but this comes from my rotation experience k? so dont sue...:D

I would imagine some specialties though especially surgical, would not be a good position at a teaching hospital. I did my rotations at a teaching hospital. My Inpt was awseome and we were treated really well and I felt that our opinion mattered. But I couldnt imagine working surgery there. i mean as a PA student, I had to FIGHT for scrub time because we had a big team (3 attendings, 1 fellow, 1 NP, 2 R3's 1 R1, 2 MS3's and 1 Transfer MS4-who thought he was an attending BTW to a point it was comical-and 1 PA student-ME! ) Now if you worked there as a PA I would imagine you not getting ANY scrub time! The NP on our team relegated herself to clinic everyday vs trying to squeeze in scrub time. Just my thoughts...

I agree that a PA in an academic medical center will have to compete with residents and fellows for choice work assignments. I personally have generally preferred working in the community hospital setting.

However, if your personal interests lean toward research or education (as opposed to strictly clinical work/patient care) then an academic medical center might be a good fit for you.

Exactly as Moonwalk said. Personally, I have only a little interest in clinical practice anymore. I still practice of course, but my interests primarily lie in health services and health economics research. I cannot imagine not practicing at a large, tertiary, academic, referral center. Both of the places I have worked have been such institutions, one in Cleveland, and one in Minnesota.