Post PA degree options

What type of medicine do you practice ?  Your looking to use this degree as a segue towards new career options ? or just force you to study and become a better clinician with clinical credentials ?  Will your hospital or practice help fund this degree/training?

A public health degree can help you understand research methods and the health care infrastructure better and also provide credentials for career in mgmt, policy, academics. If you do not have a masters through PA education you could do one of those Masters distance PA degrees. I believe they let you focus in a specialty area. AT Still has one I believe. 

If all you wanted was more clinical training I would probably recommend a different route than a degree ... for example attend specialty conferences, gain certificats. If you practice ER medicine consider ATLS, advanced burn mgmt, advanced airway courses etc.

I'm currently a PA student and I was mainly just inquiring to see what all is out there and if anything in particular is common practice post PA graduation in regards to further degrees. Several of my professors have obtained their doctorates in subjects such as health science. Do these degrees give a person any particular edge on acquiring jobs, obtaining further responsibility, or ability to work outside of the US? Do any of you who have acquired X degree feel as if it has improved your clinical skills?

I do not think a DHSc provides much edge in terms of clinical employment. if you want to develop the best skills as quickly as possible consider doing a residency. that is a smart move in my opinion, unless you are interested in primary care. 

i did further training in public health and I can read a clinical study better than 90% of clinicians. This allows me to figure what studies apply best to my patients. But if that was your sole motivation in obtaining an MPH it is not worth it.