Letters of Recommendation

I am beginning to start the CASPA process when it opens, so I have asked several people if they would mind writing a letter of recommendation for me.

My background is 12 years HCE. I started as an Radiographer (X-ray Tech), and for the last 10 years my primary clinical experience has been in Nuclear Medicine, PET/CT.

I have asked two Radiologists and also a NP for LOR so far.  I am wondering if I should ask a non-Radiology doctor instead of two Radiologists. I feel the two I have asked can really speak the best to my clinical background and about me personally. There are other physicians I have worked with that I feel comfortable asking, however, not many PAs. I actually have a 3rd Radiologist that I feel could write a really good letter for me also, but I thought I should at least include one non-Radiology professional, and someone who is a mid-level provider. 

I was also wondering if the schools do any background checks on the people who provide the references. I just thought about this when I was thinking of people to ask, that I maybe should look for any violations with the state. Is that worth my time?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Make sure to check for any school specific requirements for your LOR. Some schools have a breakdown of what they would like to see. Ex. some schools want one to be from a work supervisor who knows your performance, some want an academic professor, some prefer one be from a PA. Cross check all of the schools you're applying to for any such requirements.

Schools aren't going to run background checks on your LOR writers. At most they would "google" them to verify their position/credentials. Don't waste your time. If they are currently practicing/teaching, they're fine.

Sent from the Satellite of Love using Tapatalk

Thank you for the feedback!

I am under supervision of physicians. Do you think that a letter from a coworker, or department supervisor would better fulfill that requirement?