Typical hours/salary in Urgent Care/Fast Track

I am a PA student getting ready to start clinicals. I am very interested in emergency med, and have structured my electives accordingly.

Can anyone give me their experience with hours/shifts that they work in ER or Urgent care? I have two kids, and would prefer a set day shift with no call. I like the idea of being able to do 12 hour shifts, hopefully only doing three a week, but I don't want to work nights/weekends. Is this possible in emergency med? Is it possible in urgent care/fast track? What would the salary be?

If it's not possible, I would like to know now so I can start thinking about other specialties, and change my electives........my passion is emergency med, but I also need my hours to be compatible with my family life.

Any information is appreciated! Thanks!

nights/weekends/holidays are a regular part of emergency medicine. shifts can vary from 8/10/12/24 hrs.

urgent care it may be possible to get regular hrs but pretty hard to do in em, especially as "the new guy". most em positions rotate shifts. I work all nights( or 24s) to avoid the rotating schedule.

At our free-standing urgent care clinic, everybody pulls weekend shifts.  Most folks have a schedule ranging from 8-10+ hour shifts depending on how many patients are still waiting to be seen when we lock our door at closing time.   We are open 0800-2000 during the week but close a little earlier on weekends.  Not uncommon to be there for an hour or two past closing during busy times (i.e  now.....)

• 1 month later...