Reapplying for Next Cycle

Hi all,

I am just looking for some suggestions for ways that I can strengthen my application for reapplying next cycle. I applied to three schools this cycle (all pretty local) and received zero interviews. I know I need to apply more broadly and earlier next cycle. I also think I need to add some more volunteer hours, as many of mine were from when I was an undergrad (about two years ago).  Any suggestions for where to volunteer? Any other ideas or tips on how I can strengthen other areas would be greatly appreciated!

GPA: 3.59 (B.S. in Biology)

Science GPA: 3.54

GRE: 159 verbal, 153 quantitative, 3.5 analytical

HCE: 2500 hrs hospital phlebotomist (it's roughly 3000 now)

Shadowing: 15 hours, Oncology PA

LOR's: An undergrad professor, my current phlebotomy supervisor, and a past co-worker/friend I worked with in high school/early college

I thought my personal statement was strong, I had a couple of current PA's read over it, including one who had been involved with admissions at another school.

I'll admit that I think my supplemental essays may have been lacking. I was burnt out and distracted, and I think I could have done better.

Any other questions, let me know. Thank you!

I think you made a mistake by not having an LOR from a PA.   You mentioned they read over your personal statement, but none wrote an LOR for you.

You should try to get an LOR from a PA and one from an MD for the next cycle.  The third can be your professor or your supervisor.

Also, maybe you should try (if financially possible) to get a different type of HCE.   I don't think phlebotomy ranks high as good HCE.  Maybe CNA or EMT.

As far as your GPA and GRE numbers, they look good enough to score an interview, so I don't think they were the reason why you did not get one.

Thank you all for the feedback!