Extra Income During PA School?

Hi, I will be starting PA school this summer.

I have heard that it is very difficult to have a job during PA school and I don't plan on having a steady job as I want to focus completely on study -  I was just wondering if any of you current PA students have found ways to make a little extra income during school in the few free moments that you have?  Any advice would be great!  Thank you

I worked part time as a flight medic for most of my didactic year.  It worked out to be 12-24 hours a week.  This was on top of classes and studying.  What little down time I had was sucked up by having to go to work.  Between the stress of school and trying to work I wound up sick with a head cold I just couldn't kick (not fun with altitude changes).  So I let it go.

Having tried it, I can't recommend it.

Use those few free moments you will have to decompress.  Do something fun.  Spend time with friends, family, go for a hike... whatever.  Don't spend it by having to go to work.

• Administrator

I taught EMT classes 1-2 Saturdays per month, and worked as a volunteer firefighter all but about 6 months of my 27-month program.  I didn't ask permission; the student agreement specified that outside work was not recommended and would not be accommodated if it conflicted with program attendance. I made it work.

First, check with your program regarding their policy. Some programs make you sign something looking like a sworn statement that you will not work during the academic year. Our policy is to recommend that people do not work; I have always felt that what a student does in their time outside of school is their business.

Your organizational and time management skills will determine what might be possible. Settle in through midterms and see what your schedule is like. When I meet with a struggling student, one of the first things I ask about is time management and outside committments. I often discover a conflict.