Leadership roles for PA's

This is my first time starting a thread. I have spent dozens upon dozens of hours searching through this forum educating myself and preparing to launch my effort to switch careers and begin the long trek to becoming a PA. I very much appreciate those who contribute their expertise on this site, as it is a tremendous help to people such as myself. 

One thing I have really been curious about, and have not really seen a ton of while researching on this site, and have not really talked about with the PA's I've shadowed, is the question of what kinds of leadership roles are available for PA's?

I understand that the primary role for PA's is patient care, and that by nature there won't be as many leadership roles as there are for MD's, or even for something like Physical Therapy where you are at the top of the pyramid and not in a collaborative/supplemental role. However, what kinds of roles have people heard of PA's filling? Anyone know any PA's in Healthcare Admin? Branching out into different but related fields in a management capacity? Obviously going into academia would be an example.. opening ones own practice... how else have PA's  you've known kept moving upward? Been active in leadership? Found new and interesting opportunities? Or do you feel that being a PA limits the possibilities for leadership positions?

Anyway I would love to hear any stories or anecdotes or opinions or anything related to this question!

Thanks!

JL

There are PAs on this board who have opened their own practices, lead research teams, lead overseas medical teams, held positions as associate dept chiefs, served as deans of entire health sciences depts, and held leadership roles in hospital emergency medical services. PAs can manage practices as well. the president of the Johns Hopkins emergency medicine group is a PA with an MBA.