Ideas for new medical devices?

Hi everyone,

My name is Jordan, I'm an electrical engineering student at Stanford University. I have had some experience building basic medical devices such as EEGs and I am currently searching for more novel ideas to pursue. For those of you who are experienced in any field of medicine, what are some of the problems and difficulties you typically face that could perhaps be solved with some device that does not exist yet? For example, my father who is an orthopedist has lately been trying to convince me that a multi-transducer ultrasound machine specialized for bone imaging would be something useful in disaster relief and military orthopedics due to the lack of portability of X-ray machines.

Any suggestions, ideas, or comments would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

-Jordan

"Smart Ventilators" that are portable and durable. A vent that will keep track of end tidal CO2 and pulse ox, changing it's own concentration/rate of oxygen delivery to keep patients within a set of parameters. Has to be small, portable, and durable, and cheap. (I know, fantasy). The idea is mass casualty scenes such as terrorist attacks or Haitian style earthquakes, a few providers can ventilate/oxygenate a large mass of people.

Automatic BP machines that talk to IV pumps to change rate of infusion in accordance to vascular needs. Hypotensive...more fluids. Hypertensive, KVO the rate. Get all the machines talking to each other and connected to a health care provider via wireless ie: smartphone. When the machines have deviate from their pre set delivery, they alert the human in the link to come double check things ie: tube obstruction/displacement. This extends the reach of the provider allowing them to care for more patients.

In my fantasy these pieces of equipment would deploy with mass casualty response teams who already have caches of gear...bill it to Department of Homeland Security, allowing small departments to purchase them with grants from the Feds.