DEA help and starting pay

As a new grad I've been offered a couple of jobs at 45$ an hour (urgent cares) and another for 35$ hr.  The latter seems a bit low but I am considering because of the specialty (family) and the doc's apparent willingness to train me.  Does this seem legit, or am I getting low balled?  Inland empire area.

As far as my understanding of the law a PA MUST have his own DEA number to prescribe scheduled medications as well as the controlled substance course to prescribe without pre approval from the doc for each patient.  It seems that every interview I've gone to Ive been told I don't need a DEA because we write under the doc's.  What is this? starting to remind me of sketchy private ambulance company nonsense from my EMT days.  Is this common, is it legal?  I have no problem paying the 800$ for the DEA number, they just want me to work sooner rather than later while the DEA is processing......

Thanks for any info.

I worked for 15 years without a DEA number.  The biggest problem now is that some private insurance companies now demand an active DEA number as part of their credentialing.  If you don't have it, they don't credential. If they don't credential, they don't pay for your care for their subscribers.  It makes no sense to me and seems to be another sorry excuse not to pay, but this is reality at least in Washington state.  We tried to employ a PT PA last year and that's where we got hung up.  He had a DEA, but it was not registered to our address.