How'd you pick which schools to apply for?

Greetings,

I graduated a couple years ago with a BA in an unrelated field. Having recently realized that becoming a Physician Assistant is a very attractive option for me, I am starting up the process of fulfilling all my pre-reqs in hopes that I may be able to be done in time to apply for the 2016 application cycle.

Question I have is, how did you decide which schools you all applied to? Last I checked there were over 180 PA programs set up throughout the nation & I am wondering if there was a particular resource or method that is commonly used to differentiate which may or may not be good options. I am afraid that I will miss out on a good fit only because I simply hadn't heard of it. 

I don't have many restrictions besides my own limitations as an applicant. Again, I only started the pre-reqs this semester and also have only begun the process of gaining HCE this month. 

I live in Chicago and am open to relocating.

Appreciate any help offered.

There's no exact science and everyone has their reasons for applying to specific programs.

For me it was a variety of factors:

- First I narrowed schools down by geographic locations.

- Secondly if I met their admission criteria

- Thirdly if I met the average accepted students stats

- Fourth I looked at the cost

- Fifth I looked at their first time PANCE pass rates

- Next thing I did was call / visit the programs and get a feel for the faculty to see if we were a match.

- Last thing I did was do my homework on the programs I narrowed down