Bonuses?

Hey all,

What is typical for bonus pay and how is it calculated? Is it just based on good will from the physician?  It is difficult to get numbers from our accounting team. Currently, my bonus will be calculated based on the discretion of the physician....I have 5 yrs experience, but have only worked in hand/ortho surgery for the last 9mos.  My pay is 87k.  I stay late and work long hours, but do not take call.  The physician I work for has another PA also, who has been with him for 2.5years.  Per her, the annual bonus she received last year was 5k.  Hand surgery doesn't compensate well for PA's.  We also take part in co-clinics, not completely independent clinics, so, our billing is all under the physician.  

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

• 5 months later...

last job (which I left)

I got $300 as a bonus - I seriously considered giving it back and explaining to them that it was an insult...   grossed just under 300k for the clinic, took about 800 hours of call for free, all for 80k for a three day week (3x10)

Seriously - insulting.... 

If it is a doc owned practice - forget having any consistency and the egomaniac owner will always take the lions share of any profit (or say their was no profit - cause he took it all...)

Any bonus structure IMO are total BS, particularly for PAs. Forget it! You think your SP would be honest/comfortable to reveal what you generate? You thought wrong. I wouldn't bank my hope on any bonus. Get paid what you worth! You would not win the fight!!

Off topic, excluding the call, I'd take $80K for a thirty hour, three day work week at this point in my life, regardless of the specialty for the most part.

about 100 patients a week - booked every 10 -20 min, common to stay and extra 1-2 hours to get paperwork done - I was basically jammin 5 days into 3.....

this is not worth 80

If I worked 3 12s in the ER it would be 110-120k...