Advice on "new grad" Derm contract

Guest bleu818

Guest bleu818

I graduated almost a year ago and have been practicing hand surgery for 10 months. I am moving to a different state and really want to go into the field of dermatology. I interviewed last weekend and received a potential contract today. I don't think it's great, but of course I want to work in derm and know it's a hard field to break into without experience. Also, incidentally, my husband was diagnosed with melanoma today (of all days) so I'm more interested than ever.

Is it something I should even consider, try to negotiate or just walk away from? Here are the main points:

• $40K during training
  • $75K once I'm seeing an avg of 6 pts per day (estimated about 6 months)
  • Biannual bonus of 20% of collections over $187,500
  • 120 hours PTO (including CME)
  • $1750 professional expense allowance
  • I'm responsible for tail coverage
  • It's a 3 year contract - I can leave with 120 days notice
  • Also the clinic I will train at is atleast an hour drive from where I have signed a 1 year lease, although once I'm independent, I could work at a location closer to where I live.
  • The contract makes no mention of benefits such as health insurance (or vision or dental), short or long term disability so I'll need to ask.

It did seem like a great practice. I would have excellent MA coverage. I could be trained in surgery / cosmetic / peds as I prefer. Potential for working 4 days per week eventually. Very nice office. And I really liked the doctor.

Thanks in advance for any input :-/

the tail coverage can suck. ask around. call the malpractice company. that can wind up costing alot. probably thousands of bucks. find out more.

if no health insurance ABSOLUTELY not.