Can you become a PA if you have been arrested?

A while back I was arrested twice for stealing some merchandise from a stores. I called a lawyer when I got home both times and got the charge reduced to a non-criminal violation of disorderly conduct both times. The lawyer advised that on any background check I can still say that I was never convicted of a crime, misdemeanor, or felony anywhere. I have since gotten a job with American Red Cross as a Blood Collections Tech II. I have been doing this job for almost 3 years and while it pays good money the job is becoming kind of boring. I currently have an Associates of Science in Business Administration from Schenectady County Community College and a Medical Assistant Certificate from Branford Hall in Albany, NY. I am considering going to school to be a physician assistant but before going back to school to finally get my Bachelors Degree I am wondering if it is even possible to become a physician assistant with those arrests on my record and if so what is really the best choice to get my bachelors degree in. Another thing I worry about with the cost of getting the degree is whether or not I can even be licensed as most license boards say any conviction of a crime of dishonesty or fraud or deceit or crime that was committed for one’s own personal gain is automatic disqualification. Being that I was never actually convicted of the crime would I still be disqualified. I only ask this because it makes no sense to go back to school and get the degree if I could never be licensed.

Being "Arrested" isn't the issue... its being "convicted" of certain things that becomes a problem.

LOTS of PAs have been "arrested" for a multitude of alledged crimes.

I'd venture to say that few practicing PA-C have been convicted of the crimes they were "arrested" for.

For example...

I've been "arrested" for multiple "Assaults"... "Battery" anda handful of "Attempted murders"...