owning a bariatric post-op clinic in massachusetts

I am a physician assistant with experience in bariatric surgery, particularly outpatient clinical post-op follow-up. I can take care of both band and gastric bypass patients.

I think I could succeed in starting my own practice to see post-op bariatric patients bc many surgeons find their schedules clogged with follow-up visits, and this is obviously less lucrative for them than seeing new patients heading to the OR.

Is there anyone on the forum who has insight into the particulars of starting a PA-owned practice in Massachusetts? I have just begun noodling on this idea and I think it could be very successful, and a welcome resource for my area's bariatric surgeons.

I am a physician assistant with experience in bariatric surgery, particularly outpatient clinical post-op follow-up. I can take care of both band and gastric bypass patients.

I think I could succeed in starting my own practice to see post-op bariatric patients bc many surgeons find their schedules clogged with follow-up visits, and this is obviously less lucrative for them than seeing new patients heading to the OR.

Is there anyone on the forum who has insight into the particulars of starting a PA-owned practice in Massachusetts? I have just begun noodling on this idea and I think it could be very successful, and a welcome resource for my area's bariatric surgeons.

The problem is that the surgeon is already being paid for follow up care. Why should someone pay you?

bundling only applies if the same surgeon sees the patient in follow up

If you see some one different they still get paid......

It actually might be workable

I started http://www.berkshiremobilemedicine.com in MASS and it is possible to do

The biggest problem - if you are going to bill medicare you need to have a doc as co-owner 1% (might be able to get an NP but I got a doc) due to state laws

But with a doc owner you have to have legal papers drawn up..... $$$