Scribe as clinical experience

I have been scribing alongside a physician for over a year in an ER. This job consists of charting for physicians during their assessment with patients, keeping up with incoming lab/imaging results, and the overall assistance to the physician to facilitate movement in the ER. Do PA schools consider scribing as clinical experience? If so, is it comparable to working as an EMT or CNA?

I have 4 years of scribe experience, and the schools that I applied to were OK with it. :) I know that my pre-med adviser recommends that pre-PA students get EMT and CNA experience though. In a sense, yes it IS just shadowing, but we also know how the doctor "thinks" essentially. We are there when the patients are first seen until they are discharged or admitted. We know (to an extent) what labs/radiology a physician/PA would order for certain symptoms (ie: RLQ pain/RUQ pain, etc). So if you can elaborate that you know that experience in your personal statement or during your interview it would be a giant boost to your application. This is my first time applying to PA schools, I applied to 10, had 5 interviews, and I got in this round :) So good luck!

some schools do.

not at all comparable to emt or cna as they actually touch pts and do direct pt care.

scribes watch other folks work. it's basically shadowing.