MEDEX in WA vs. University of Texas - Dallas

MEDEX vs U of Texas  

10 members have voted

1. 1. MEDEX vs U of Texas

• MEDEX in Washington?
    • University of Texas in Dallas?

Hello. I am a surgical RN living in Idaho. I will finish my BSN in April 2013. I have been working in surgery for five years, 3 as a certified surgical technologist (CST) and 2 as circulator RN. My long term goal is to assist in surgeries such as ortho or neurosurgery as a PA.

In my research and talking to friends, I have narrowed my search to PA schools to MEDEX in Washington state or University of Texas in Dallas. I have a friend who I met when I was a CST student who went through MEDEX and is now working in Idaho with two orthopedic surgeons. I have a cousin who is a trauma nurse in Plano, Texas who says the pay is good there for RNs and plenty of career and educational opportunities there.

I would appreciate it if anybody who has experiences with either or both of these PA programs if you could give me some insight so I can make an informed decision. I feel like it would be good to move to TX and work there for a year to gain residency status, but that would mean selling our home in Idaho and a leap of faith to rent once again after 8 years of homeownership. I want to do the best for my family and for my career.

Thank you for your advice and good luck in your education and career to each of you!

Being from Texas had to think about where you meant. Best to refer to it as UT Southwestern. There are three UT schools in the state, and this one is definitely top ten, and very competitive to get in to. I'm partial to Baylor though.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk 2