Low GPA

Hey guys,

I just wanted to get some feedback from you regarding my stats. My undergrad GPA was 2.7. Something that I'm absolutely horrified of. My original major was Business Administration. A couple of years ago I got an MBA in Healthcare Admin with a 4.0 GPA. I am now returning to school in order to get all the pre-reqs and then apply to various PA programs. So far, I am doing really well and will be having a GPA between 3.3 and 3.5. I am taking pretty much all science courses so my science GPA will be high, considering I only took one science course in my original undergrad. What are your thoughts on my chances in getting into PA school? I am fairly confident if I get an interview I will be able to explain my previous stats. Will I have a better chance since I have a master's degree?

Thanks

Rob

Absolutely you have a good shot. Do well in your prerequisites. You're in a way better starting point then I was when I started the journey to become a PA. My undergrad was in communications and I did horrible 2.31 GPA. I got my MBA a little later and got a 3.69 GPA. I then took 44 units all science prerequisites and got a 4.0 GPA. My GPA at the time of application was a 2.93. I start PA school in July 2013.

What you'll need to do to help your chances besides doing well in your science prerequisites is also have healthcare experience that is paid where you have direct contact with patients (ie EMT, MA, CNA, EKG Tech, etc) as well as some volunteer / community service. The ball is in your court.l and you control your destiny. Best of luck!

• 2 weeks later...