HCE in Nutrition, Conflicting Information

Hi there!

I was wondering if anyone out there had any information or first-hand experience dealing with the current predicament I'm in....

I graduated May 2012 with a BS (with honors) in Dietetics, which directly prepared me to go into a dietetic internship to receive my RD credential. However, RD was never my "end goal", it was PA.

After graduating, I was faced with the decision to either:

(a) Apply to and complete an RD internship. Expensive, programs run anywhere from 8mo - 2yrs, placement is competitive. Then, after obtaining my RD, practice for a year or two, THEN apply to PA school using the RD experience as my HCE. OR...

(b) Aim straight for my end goal, and spend my time grooming myself specifically for PA schools, rather than the RD internship.

At first, I went with option (a), and had started building my application on DICAS (same thing as CASPA, just for dietetic internships). Then I did a class audit at USC, and spoke with one of the directors. I told her my plan, and she advised me that I was wasting my time pursuing my RD with the intent of using it for HCE, reason being, most schools don't consider RD direct patient care.

After thinking this over, I chucked option (a) for option (b). Now the problem is I don't have HCE, nor do I have any sort of license/certificate/credential to get said HCE. Of course I have considered taking a course at the local community college to get a certificate for EMT-b, MA or tech of some sort. I just can't help but feel as though in doing so I'm taking a step backwards when I compare an RD to a tech. To me, I feel as though an RD is higher on the healthcare "totem pole" so to speak, and I have a hard time understanding why massage therapy or various techs count as direct HCE, but a dietitian does not.

Was I given poor information? Anyone out there struggle with something similar regarding their HCE? All matters of opinions/advice welcome.