Not doing enough?

Hi everyone, 

Im a sophomore in college, about to be a junior. I started off in a CC. I’m currently taking a chemistry class that combines OCHEM, biological, and general chem. It is TOUGH! I’m wondering if i’ll make it to PA school. I’m volunteering at a hospital now but have not been going in the last couple of weeks due to having to be at work at 4 am and being completely exhausted after. I am feeling like I don’t have enough time to catch up on volunteering or shadowing. Does anyone have any tips for volunteering and finding someone to shadow? Stories of you also feeling this way? 

Thanks all, 

Sienna.

You are in a good spot -being a sophomore and trying to figure this all out. It is overwhelming, but a few tips may help. Have a clear path of what your next 2-3 years of school will look like. Try to preplan when you will not be as busy, like when you have a semester that is not as difficult as others, and try to rack up the volunteer and shadow hours then. Maybe the summer will be your best time to do this. I would focus the majority of my energy into getting awesome grades. Poor grades in the first years will only make more work for you later on having to retake courses to improve your GPA. You also need to think about working to get hce hours. If you don’t know what this is, do some research and try to figure that out. As for finding someone to shadow, you need to call offices and see if you can shadow there. This can be frustrating because you can get a lot of “no’s”. I found that smaller clinics/dr groups are a little easier to get into than a huge hospital or large dr group. Explain to you contact person clearly why you want to shadow and they may be more supportive of your request.