Possible PA student questions.

Hello all,

I know these threads get started a lot in this section of the forum, but I'm genuinely concerned about my chances of becoming a PA.

My story is a bit weird as I have a bachelors of political science from a state university. When I originally started undergrad my dream was to go to pharmacy school. Along the way I decided to. Pursue other interests. Due to a past lack of commitment and focus, I was unable to enter into a healthcare field. My lifelong desire has been to learn skills that I can use to help other people while at the same time making a living doing it.

It has been two years since I graduated and the desire to be a part of the process of patient care hasn't gone away. I'm 25 now and feel like now is a better time than ever to make the commitment to accomplish my goals, and I am a more focused and motivated person than I've ever been in my life. Much more than during my undergrad years.

With the poli sci bachelors already, if I take the required biology and chemistry, etc. classes needed for admissions into a PA program, would I stand a chance in admissions?

More specifically, my plan would be to take the required classes and to perform very well in each of them and during that time looking for some volunteer or employment options that give me the experience with patient care that is desirable for PA programs.

Now the only thing I'm worried about is that my undergrad gpa was subpar compared to most PA students. It was a 2.4 and I'm not looking for ridicule or to pass on the responsibility. I've already owned it and must live with it.

Do you think that having a couple of years pass since I finished the degree and excelling in the new classes in bio and chem will show an adcom that I've matured and become a much more capable student? Or is this undergrad gpa going to prove to be the end of any dreams I have?