Help me strengthen my application please :)

Hello everyone, I'm going to be applying to PA school next year so I have a year to strengthen my application. I'm a rising junior in college.

Major: B.S. in Psychology with concentration in Neuroscience

Overall GPA: 3.75

Science GPA: 3.64

Patient care experience: Currently an EMT-b. I have accumulated approximately 245 hours, and I plan to continue volunteering 10-15 hours a week for the next year. I ride at home and at my university. I know I need to get these hours up.

I'm also currently shadowing a PA in the ER, and I'm an officer for my university's EMS organization. I am also working in a neuroscience research lab at my university.

So my concern is that my application is pretty blah. I was thinking of volunteering with the Red Cross by helping teach children some basic first aide. What else do I need in order to make my application stronger? Any advice is appreciated!

Sounds like you're a traditional age college student. If you can afford it, an international medical service trip can never hurt and can give you experiences to write about in your PS/supplemental application. All the supplementals I did asked about working with people who are different from you. I did a trip through International Service Learning. Some schools require experience hours to be paid so if you can get a healthcare job that would help. If there are nursing homes around you they're usually easy to get hired at, hospitals are harder. Nursing home would be nice since residents are long-term where you can provide continuous care vs EMT when you see the pt for a short time. Hospital work would probably "look" better. Diversifying your volunteering is a good idea. Shadowing PAs in other medical fields can't hurt. Congrats on having good grades, sounds like you are on a good path! You can take the GRE whenever you have time so I would start thinking about when to do that if the schools you want to apply to require it....