Any lung transplant PAs out there?

I’ve been working in pulmonary critical care for the last five years and am applying to a position on a lung transplant team. The job would be a combination of outpatient evaluation pre-op/post-op as well as some inpatient. No OR time. Wondering if anyone out there has made a similar transition...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I previously worked in solid organ transplant (kidney, liver, occasional pancreas). Over 4 years, I worked outpatient and inpatient, very rarely scrubbed in when floor was slow. Obviously different organ systems and details of care, but a lot of the logistics I would imagine are similar. Evaluation and listing for transplant, inpatient post-op to outpatient transition and then chronic care. There was a significant amount of non-clinical time spent in selection committees, cancer conference, pathology conference, etc. Let me know if you have any questions more general transplant questions.

Thanks for the helpful reply, Randito. Assuming this was not your first job out of school, what about your previous positions do you feel prepared you for the position? Do you enjoy the job overall? Also, I'd be interested to hear about any particular resources that you found helpful when you got started in the field....

23 hours ago, ccc1180 said:

I’ve been working in pulmonary critical care for the last five years and am applying to a position on a lung transplant team. The job would be a combination of outpatient evaluation pre-op/post-op as well as some inpatient. No OR time. Wondering if anyone out there has made a similar transition...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I did the opposite...kinda. I started off doing advanced heart failure/transplant but in a CCU, did no outpatient stuff and have since transitioned to pulmonary/critical care.