Hello -

Anyone out there applying in their 30s-40s? What is your experience like so far?  Any PAs who got a late start? I am very interested in going to PA school.  I am turning 37 in October, and need to do at least 1yr of pre-requisites.  I Already have done a lot of them, but they are 12 years old, which would make me uncomfortable as a professional (Because no way can I really remember all of that info), and probably wouldn’t make me very competitive (I have an MA SLP, but do not practice).  I am also a single mom with no family nearby to help out.  I am looking to apply to schools near family, but it would not work for pre-requisites.  Is it worth putting in the time and money to become a PA at 41?  I, personally, think yes, but I see how young most people are in the incoming classes, I wonder if I am at a disadvantage.  My science GPA is 3.9, my MA is from Northwestern, I have been working with adults with disabilities for 7 years, and I graduated in the top 5% of my class at NYU for undergrad.  I think I am pretty competitive, as long as my pre-requisite GPA is good and I can get a handle on the GRE once again (I took it 13 years ago). Any advice?

• Like 2

I feel there was a benefit to being older and you are not all that old. I decided to become a PA when I was 51. Taking some time off for medic school and to take prereqs old and new (I had to retake chem 40 years from when I took it as an undergrad), I was 57 when I applied to PA school and 58 when I started. I'm 74 now and still working (2 days in practice and 2 as a PA professor) because I enjoy it.

The big question is what do YOU want to do next in your life and are you willing to pay the price in money and time.  If you're not sure, spend some more time shadowing and talking to PAs and decide if it's for you. And start your prereqs with a single class if only to see how that feels to you.

You are definitely not going to be too old!

Edited by UGoLong
  • Like 4